• Gluten-Free MyPlate

    MyPyramid logo People who have celiac disease need to follow a strict gluten-free diet. Gluten is a protein commonly found in grains, such as wheat, rye, and barley, as well as in many food additives. Gluten can damage the small intestine in people with celiac disease, preventing the body from absorbing all of the nutrients from food.
    Following a gluten-free diet can be difficult to adjust to, especially if you have been recently diagnosed with celiac disease. The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) developed MyPlate, which provides guidelines for healthy eating and focuses on six food groups. While MyPlate is intended for the general population, below are some suggestions for eating gluten-free while following the USDA’s food guidelines.


    Out of all of the food groups, the grain group poses the most problems for people with celiac disease. This is because many of these products contain gluten. But there are gluten-free choices, including:
    • Amaranth
    • Bean flour
    • Corn flour and corn meal
    • Potato flour
    • Rice flour and rice
    • Soy flour
    • Flax
    • Millet
    • Quinoa
    • Oats—These are naturally gluten-free, but are often processed with wheat products. Some companies sell “uncontaminated” oats.
    When shopping, check the food label to see if the product is labeled as “gluten-free.” Regular grocery stores may offer some of these products, but natural food stores will have a larger selection—like gluten-free breads, cereals, pasta, and tortillas. You can also order these products online.

    How Much Per Day?

    About 6-8 ounces depending on your age, gender, and level of physical activity

    MyPlate Reminder

    Strive to make at least half of the grains that you eat whole grains (eg, amaranth, millet, quinoa, oats).


    You can eat nearly all types of fresh, frozen, and canned veggies. You should avoid vegetables in sauce since sauces could contain gluten. Also avoid any veggies that are breaded, as well as French fries.
    Other than that, you can enjoy a variety of veggies during your day, like broccoli, lettuce, spinach, carrots, corn, peas, and eggplant.

    How Much Per Day?

    About 2-3 cups depending on your age, gender, and level of physical activity

    MyPlate Reminder

    Fill up half of your plate with fruits and vegetables.


    As with the veggie group, you will be able to enjoy a range of fresh and frozen fruits. Most canned fruits are also safe to eat, especially those that are packed in natural juices. But double-check the label for any gluten additives. If you like dried fruit, remember to look at the list of ingredients. Some dried fruits have been dusted with flour to prevent the pieces from sticking together. You will need to avoid fruits in sauce and fruit pie fillings since these, too, may have additives.

    A Note About Additives

    Many additives contain gluten. To follow a gluten-free diet, familiarize yourself with these additives so that you will be able to spot them on food labels. Some additives that contain gluten include:
    • Modified food starch
    • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
    • Hydrolyzed plant protein
    • Monosodium glutamate
    • Dextrin
    • Maltose
    • Maltodextrin

    How Much Per Day?

    About 1-½ to 2 cups depending on your age, gender, and level of physical activity


    All types of products made from milk fall into this category. Safe options for you include aged cheeses, plain yogurt, and cream.
    Fresh, dried, and evaporated milk are all okay for you to consume. Avoid malted milk since it has barley and wheat. Also, keep in mind that chocolate milk and other flavored milk drinks may have gluten.
    Be sure to read the labels of cheese sauces and spreads, which may contain additives. In addition, flavored yogurt, frozen yogurt, and ice cream may have either additives or ingredients (like cookie dough or granola) that include gluten.

    How Much Per Day?

    3 cups a day for adults

    MyPlate Reminder

    Use fat-free or low-fat (1%) milk!

    Meats and Beans

    You have a lot of options with this food group. Fresh fish, poultry, and meat are all safe to eat. You can also have eggs, tuna canned in oil or water, plain nuts, and legumes (beans, peas, and lentils).
    Try to avoid processed meats, like cold cuts, hot dogs, and sausages, which may have wheat fillers. Meat marinades, flavorings, and seasonings should also be on the “do not eat” list. Also keep in mind that imitation seafood and meat (eg, veggie burgers), as well as anything breaded, contain gluten.

    How Much Per Day?

    About 5 to 6-½ ounces depending on your age, gender, and level of physical activity

    Living Gluten-Free

    By following MyPlate’s guidelines for healthy eating and becoming familiar with gluten-free food, you can work towards getting all of the nutrients that you need. A registered dietician can further help by creating a customized meal plan for you. Also, there are many online resources and gluten-free cookbooks to help you enjoy meals while staying healthy.


    ChooseMyPlate.gov http://www.choosemyplate.gov/

    National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse http://digestive.niddk.nih.gov


    Canadian Celiac Association http://www.celiac.ca/

    Health Canada http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/


    Adams M. Gluten-free diet. EBSCO Health Library website. Available at: http://www.ebscohost.com/healthLibrary/. Updated February 28, 2012. Accessed September 24, 2012.

    Food groups. United States Department of Agriculture. ChooseMyPlate website. Available at: http://www.choosemyplate.gov/food-groups/index.html. Accessed September 24, 2012.

    The GF diet. Canadian Celiac Association website. Available at: http://www.celiac.ca/index.php/about-celiac-disease/. Accessed September 24, 2012.

    Gluten-free food pyramid. Food Guide Pyramid website. Available at: http://www.foodguidepyramid.co.uk/glutenfree-food-pyramid.html. Accessed September 24, 2012.

    Guidelines for avoiding gluten. Gluten Free Society website. Available at: http://www.glutenfreesociety.org/gluten-free-society-blog/guidelines-for-avoiding-gluten-unsafe-ingredients-for-gluten-sensitivity// Accessed September 24, 2012.

    Learn about celiac disease. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics website. Available at: http://www.eatright.org/Public/content.aspx?id=6442467394&terms=celiac+disease. Accessed September 24, 2012.

    Revision Information

  • LiveWell personal health survey

    How healthy are you really? Find out – free.Learn more

    It's time to stop guessing. If you want to make some changes but just aren't sure how, the free personal health survey from LiveWell is a great place to start.

  • HeartSHAPE Spotlight

    At risk for a heart attack? Learn more

    Fight heart disease and prevent heart attacks. HeartSHAPE® is a painless, non-invasive test that checks pictures of your heart for early-stage coronary disease.

  • Calories and Energy Needs

    Calorie NeedsLearn more

    How many calories do you need to eat each day to maintain your weight and fuel your physical activity? Enter a few of your stats into this calculator to find out.

  • Ideal Body Weight

    Ideal Body WeightLearn more

    Using body mass index as a reference, this calculator determines your ideal body weight range. All you need to do is enter your height.

  • Body Mass Index

    Body Mass IndexLearn more

    This tool considers your height and weight to assess your weight status.

  • Can we help answer your questions?

    Wellmont Nurse Connection is your resource for valuable health information any time, 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Speak to a Nurse any time, day or night, at (423) 723-6877 or toll-free at 1-877-230-NURSE.