Trauma Care

In life-threatening trauma situations, minutes – or even seconds – can make the difference between life and death. That is why trauma patients require an immediate and comprehensive array of care. And that is exactly what Wellmont Health System’s trauma patients receive.

Using state-of-the-art technologies and the expertise of our experienced trauma physicians, medical teams and caregivers, Wellmont delivers a full spectrum of lifesaving trauma care – from 24/7 emergency treatment to surgical services and rehabilitation – for residents of Bristol, Kingsport and the surrounding Tri-Cities region of Northeast Tennessee and Southwest Virginia.

Wellmont’s two major trauma centers

Designated the region’s first Level I Trauma Center in 1988, Holston Valley Medical Center is one of Tennessee’s six Level I centers.

Bristol Regional Medical Center is the only Level II Trauma Center in Tennessee.

As part of a commitment to providing the best possible trauma care, both locations offer:

  • Full diagnostic radiology services, including computed tomography and StatScan scanners in the trauma center at Holston Valley
  • 24/7 availability of surgery suites for trauma cases
  • Subspecialty surgical care in several areas, including cardiothoracic surgery, neurosurgery, orthopedic surgery and urology
  • Laboratory services
  • Hazardous material decontamination facilities
  • Outpatient follow-up and treatment by specialists
  • Rehabilitative services
  • Trauma registry to plot the cause, treatment and outcome of every case

Wellmont’s trauma centers work in collaboration with local EMS providers, ensuring timely response, decreased morbidity and mortality, exceptional access to care and improved outcomes for safer communities.

What is a trauma center?

In Tennessee, trauma centers are designated for three-year periods by the state’s Board for Licensing Health Care Facilities.

To obtain trauma center status, a hospital must have a trauma physician in the emergency room at all times and provide access to other relevant medical specialties and subspecialties around the clock.

All trauma centers follow national guidelines to receive one of three levels of designation. The following levels of trauma care are available at Wellmont hospitals:

Level I Trauma Center 

A Level I (Level One) Trauma Center provides the highest and most comprehensive level of service with a full range of specialists and equipment available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

To maintain Level I status, a trauma centers must admit a certain volume of severely injured patients each year and must offer educational, preventive and outreach programs. Level I centers are leaders in injury prevention.

Level II Trauma Center 

Working in collaboration with Level I centers, a Level II (Level Two) Trauma Center provides comprehensive trauma care with round-the-clock availability of essential specialties, personnel and equipment.

WellmontOne Air Transport and Med-Flight II

WellmontOne Air Transport, Wellmont’s own helicopter, and Med-Flight II, a partnership between Wellmont and the Virginia State Police, take to the skies to provide advanced life-support air transportation for critically ill and injured residents across the region.

With their experienced flight crews and medical teams, these air ambulances are ready for emergencies 24/7.

Holston Valley is a member of the Trauma Center Association of America.